Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

dj sniff

Incredulous Cuts: Reinterpretations of the doubtmusic Catalogue

(Doubtmusic, dms-152) (Japan) (CD)

  1. Let's Begin (0:56)
  2. No Time to Breath (7:42)
  3. Watch Your Bags on the Train from Brussels (3:16)
  4. Synthetic Throat (1:11)
  5. Kuchithesizer (4:40)
  6. Fukazu (2:40)
  7. Even More Encores (3:49)
  8. A Spring Dream (2:00)
  9. Liquefaction (7:02)
  10. Blacksheep on a Coral Seabed (6:02)

    Bonus track
  11. June 18, 2012 Amsterdam (12:55)

Main sampled materials from CDs on doubtmusic
Track 1: Sim Sec:ond Sim (dmf-143)
Track 2: Mats Gustafsson Catapult (dms-103)
Track 3: Sim Sec:ond Sim (dmf-143)
Track 4: Koichi Makigami Moon Ether (dms-107)
Track 5: Koichi Makigami Moon Ether (dms-107)
Track 6: Kazutoki Umezu Show the Frog (dms-104)
Track 7: Axel Dörner/Kazuo Imai/Nobuyoshi Ino/Noritaka Tanaka Rostbeständige Zeit (dmf-132/133)
Track 8: Akira Sakata The Tale of the Heike (dms-142)
Track 9: Otomo Yoshihide Modulation with 2 Electric Guitars and 2 Amplifiers (dms-119)
Track 10: Blacksheep Blacksheep (dmf-122) and Tatsuhisa Yamamoto/Muneomi Senju A Thousand Mountains: Accoustic & Synthesized Drums and Percussion (dmf-131)
Track 11: no use of materials from doubtmusic releases

Other doubtmusic sources used for this CD:
Kazuo Imai Trio Blood (dmf-124/125)
Kazutoki Umezu Plays the Enka: Woodwind Solo (dms-126)
Junji Hirose The Elements: Tenor Saxophone Solos (dms-135)
Kanon Beauty Is the Thing (dmf-141)

All tracks performed, recorded, composed, and mixed by dj sniff at School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong, except track 11, recorded by Andrew Levine and Nico Bes at STEIM, Amsterdam
Dubplates by Dieb13
Mastered by Yoshiaki Kondo
Cover artwork by Geoff Kim
Design by Satoshi Suzuki
Produced by dj sniff and Jun Numata

Released in June 2014