Improvised Music from Japan / Discography


Looks at the Bird

(Thrill Jockey Records/Heads, THRILL-JP 3/HEADZ 2) (Japan) (CD)

  1. From the Black Current (3:43)
  2. Lupé (4:59)
  3. Name's Winston, Friends Call Me James (4:50)
  4. Everywhere Down Here (4:27)
  5. In the Reeds (5:21)
  6. 50 Guitars (4:31)
  7. The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls (3:14)
  8. The Wind-Up Bird (4:46)
  9. Pearl's Dream (3:28)
  10. Noel 1 (2:20)
  11. Doug (3:42)
  12. Noel 2 (2:23)

Tracks 10, 11, and 12 are bonus tracks included in the Japanese edition only.

All songs written and arranged by Noel Kupersmith and Douglas McCombs except "The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls" (7), written by Tortoise, and "Pearl's Dream" (9), written by Walter Schumann

Recorded and mixed by John McEntire at Soma E.M.S., except "The Wind-Up Bird" (8), mixed by Noel Kupersmith and Casey Rice at Classics
String arrangements by Noel Kupersmith, Douglas McCombs, and John McEntire. Strings played by "the Machines."
Paintings by Eric Claridge
Design by Sheila Sachs and Douglas McCombs
Includes liner notes in Japanese by Atsushi Sasaki

Released in January 2003