Improvised Music from Japan / Discography



(Thrill Jockey Records/Headz, THRILL-JP 13/HEADZ 22) (Japan) (CD)

  1. TNT (7:33)
  2. Swung from the Gutters (5:52)
  3. Ten-Day Interval (4:44)
  4. I Set My Face to the Hillside (6:08)
  5. The Equator (3:43)
  6. A Simple Way to Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work (3:33)
  7. The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls (5:38)
  8. Four-Day Interval (4:44)
  9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women and Men (7:29)
  10. Almost Always Is Nearly Enough (2:41)
  11. Jetty (8:22)
  12. Everglade (4:22)
  13. TNT (Nobukazu Takemura remix) (10:05)

Track 13 is a bonus track included on the Japanese release only.

All music composed by Tortoise

Tortoise: Dan Bitney, John Herndon, Douglas McCombs, John McEntire, David Pajo, and Jeff Parker

Popahna Brandes: cello
Caitlin Horsmon: bassoon
Julie Liu: violin
Rob Mazurek: cornet
Sara P. Smith: trombone

Recorded, edited, and mixed by John McEntire at Soma Electronic Music Studios, except (3) and (8), recorded at Idful Music Corporation
Recorded and mixed between November 1996 and November 1997
Additional programming by Dan Bitney and John Herndon
Mastered by Roger Seibel at SAE Analog and Digital Mastering Services
Sleeve design by Tortoise
Layout assistance by Sheila Sachs
Includes liner notes in Japanese by Atsushi Sasaki (Japanese edition)

Released in March 2004
Originally released by Thrill Jockey Records in March 1988