Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

Toshi Tsuchitori

The Sounds of Prehistoric Painted Cave: Playing in the Cave of Cougnac, France

(Japan Traditional Cultures Foundation/Victor Entertainment, VZCG 687) (Japan) (CD)

  1. The Sea of Live (3:08)
  2. Dance Neanderthals (1:40)
  3. Flying Megaloceros (5:08)
  4. Dance Cro-Magnon (3:02)
  5. Red Point (1:53)
  6. Dream Time (5:28)
  7. Spirit Megaloceros (2:52)
  8. Ibex (6:39)
  9. To the Ancestor's Spirit (1:19)
  10. The Playground of Cave Bear (2:57)
  11. Dancing Bison (1:45)
  12. Marching Mammoth (5:04)

All compositions by Toshi Tsuchitori

Toshi Tsuchitori: lithophone (stalagmite, stalactite), bone flute, nose flute, rattle, wooden scraper, bone

Recorded by Yuki Nakayama in the Cave of Cougnac, France, November 21, 2002
Mastered by Kazuie Sugimoto
Photos by Manabu Minakawa
Design by Akira Sasaki
Includes a 24-page booklet with Japanese liner notes by Toshi Tsuchitori; an interview with Toshi Tsuchitori (interviewer: Mitsuo Aki) in Japanese; English liner notes; a biography of Toshi Tsuchitori in Japanese and English; and photos

Released in July 2008