Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

Joji Yuasa

Music for Experimental Films

Obscure Tape Music of Japan Vol. 7

(Edition Omega Point, OPA-007) (Japan) (CD)

  1. Andy Warhol: Re-Reproduction [1974] (19:41)
  2. Autonomy [1972] (11:38)
  3. Document of the Long White Line [1960] (12:54)

All music composed by Joji Yuasa for experimental films directed by Toshio Matsumoto

Track 1: electronically modulated and distorted words
Track 2: musique concrete with metamorphosed sound from playing of inside of piano, voice, bird sounds, sound of steel spring, etc.
Track 3: musique concrete and instrumental composition played by chamber orchestra; musique concrete portion recorded at Nichiei Shinsha recording studio
Includes photos from films of Toshio Matsumoto
Artwork by Ryuhei Yuasa
Design by Shin Akiyama and Kentaro Matsui
Includes liner notes by Joji Yuasa (in Japanese and English)

Released in February 2008
Track 1 originally released on Experimental Film Works 1961-1987, a 3-DVD box set of films by Toshio Matsumoto (Uplink Factory, ULD242)
Limited edition of 700