Improvised Music from Japan / Discography

Marco Cappelli

Extreme Guitar Project: Music from Downtown NYC

(Mode Records, mode 157) (U.S.) (CD)

  1. And So I Went to Pittsburgh [composed by Marc Ribot] (3:01)
  2. Bird Chant [composed by Ikue Mori] (6:21)
  3. Amygdala [composed by Elliott Sharp] (11:42)
  4. The Buzzing in My Head [composed by Anthony Coleman] (10:12)

    A Bright Moon Makes a Little Daytime [composed by Nick Didkowsky]
  5. Hammertoes (3:03)
  6. Poker Face Alters Conversation (1:51)
  7. The Ass's Demise (1:44)

  8. Pi - Anode [composed by Otomo Yoshihide] (5:58)
  9. Marked by a Hat [composed by Annie Gosfield] (7:54)
  10. Uboingee Etude #1 [composed by Mark Stewart] (5:22)
  11. Iron Blue [composed by Erik Friedlander] (7:40)
  12. Terra [composed by David Shea] (4:26)

All works commissioned from the composers by Marco Cappelli

Marco Cappelli: amplified classical guitar modified with eight sympathetic strings

Produced, recorded, and mixed by Elliott Sharp
Recorded at Studio zOaR, New York City, January-February 2005
Mixed at Studio zOaR, October-December 2005
Photos by Danilo Scarpati
Graphic design by Isa Gouverneur
Includes liner notes by Marco Cappelli and the composers (in English, German, French, and Italian)

Released in 2006